Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organised group activities in their free time. Others say that it is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own.

It is believed by few that parents should motivate children to engage themselves in group activities in their idle time, whereas, others think that their children ought to utilize time for their own. In my opinion participation in organised group activities holds more important over the latter, because it brings social and judgemental skills to the children and on the other hand, they supervised by someone all the times, when they are in a group. Taking part in organized group programmes has many advantages for children. One of the major benefits is the development of social skills. That is to say that children can learn how to live in harmony, share joy and sorrow with others and compromise in a certain situation. Furthermore, such activities are safe because children will almost always have someone to supervise them while they are in a group and can get a helping hand when they needed and certainly, get corrected by parents if they do something wrong. With group activities, children will eventually understand that not everything will happen in their own way and they will naturally learn how to back down or choose a different path. Moreover, teamwork teaches how to play someone’s role in order to achieve a common goal and as they got supervised by others, their decision making skills also got enlighten. For example, when children play a sport, for example, football, they learn the importance of working with their teammates to achieve their common goal. Such skills will benefit them in their future. Conversely, children may thrive positively when parents give them unscheduled leisure time. It also nurtures their creativity and it helps them to develop on their own and makes them more independent. this skill will be beneficial in those phases of life when they have to take decisions on their own. The important downside to spending time alone is that children may use it for unproductive activities and can make poor judgement without a proper guidance which is really downgrade children's characteristic.