Some people say that online education is an excellent alternative to traditional education. But other people believe that virtual education cannot substitute traditional one.

It is not a secret that education plays an important role in the life of any individual. Currently, it is possible to use various approaches to getting knowledge and meeting personal, academic and developmental needs. Online learning and traditional learning are two popular ways to get an education. But can online education substate traditional learning? Online Learning is a reality and gradually becoming part of formal education. During the Covid-19 the majority of countries, including us, have closed their schools and were switched to online learning. We all had to adapt to the new environment and learn in this training format. So, I can share about my experience of online learning and put forward advantages and disadvantages: • The main advantage for me was a convenient schedule and comfort. In my opinion, students can progress at their own pace and from their homeplaces. They have the flexibility to set their every-day routine and cultivate a personal learning atmosphere. Also, a lot of time is saved by avoiding time-wasting commute. • Lower costs. Online learning is cheaper than traditional one. Traditional education requires costs such as commuting to a faculty or college, accommodation and equipment for class. • Self-discipline and responsibility. Studying online requires more self-motivation and time-management skills, because you will spend a lot of time on your own without someone physically close to keep you focused on deadlines. As for the disadvantages: • Online learning lacks face-to-face communication. Many of the students and teachers who inevitably spend much of their time online can start experiencing signs of social isolation, due to the lack of human communication in their lives. Social isolation coupled with a lack of communication often leads to several mental health issues such as heightened stress, anxiety, and negative thoughts. • Traditional education, as opposed to online learning, enhances quick study, memorization, and retention of learning materials. Schoolchildren and students are quick in their ability to memorize and retain learning materials during a traditional in-person home and school classroom education better than the way online learning does. • The problem with online learning is that it focuses mainly on developing theoretical knowledge rather than practical skills. After all, without face-to-face interaction and physical classrooms to use as a workshop, implementing practical projects in an online course requires much more advance planning than theoretical training. In conclusion, online education has proved to be boon during the lockdown phase but it has some limitations. For my point of view, online learning cannot substitute traditional education. It should not replace the traditional way of education as it cannot fully replace the human relationships that develop in a group.