Show the similarities and/or differences between online learning and traditional learning

Online learning has become a preferable way of learning in the context of recent pandemic. In comparison with traditional learning, online learning has some similar points and different points as well. Firstly, the participants in an online class have the same role as those in a virtual one. In other words, the teachers often make a preparation before teaching in traditional class, similarly, lecturers also prepare their slides and materials in advance. In addition, the students have to fulfill their homework in both online and offline classes. Despite of the similarity, online and offline learning have noble differences. The first one is in communication. It is obvious that in traditional classes a student has more opportunities to give his speech than in online courses. For example, offline-class students have more time to discuss with other classmates and interact with their tutors through the gesture, eye contact and also body language. Although there may be a requirement for pupils to turn on the camera in online classes, there is limitation such as Internet connection and students’ willingness, which leads to the lack of interaction in online learning. Another obvious difference is that online learning is much more flexible compared to traditional learning. While face-to-face classes often have fixed timetable consisting of the time to start and end class, online classes give a chance for learners to choose a suitable time to study. In conclusion, even though online learning is different from traditional learning in flexibility and opportunities to communicate, they are similar in the role of people joining in.