Some people say that now we can see films on our phones or tablets, and there is no need to go to the cinema. Others say that to be fully enjoyed, films need to be seen in a cinema.

Technology has revolutionised the way audiences watch movies these days. With smartphones and tablets, we can now watch movies anywhere and anytime. Some people believe that this is a substitute for going to the cinema. However, I would argue that movie theatres deliver an unparalleled experience as not all movies can be enjoyed on small screens. On the one hand, the advent of smart devices has put the cinema business at stake. Recently, many people have begun relying on their smartphones to watch their favourite videos and movies at their convenience. For example, many mobile applications, such as Netflix, provide users access to millions of contents at an affordable price, including those that are not shown in theatres. This has given people a good reason to enjoy movies with their family at home. In contrast, it would be costly and inconvenient if people have to watch movies in the cinema. On the other hand, theatres give an unmatched experience that viewers can not get while watching movies on a small hand-held screen. For example, in movie theatres, films are projected on a large screen with a high-quality surrounding sound system and a comfy seat, where watchers can enjoy the film to its fullest. In addition, many cinema providers have recently introduced new theatre concepts to cater to various customer segments and included a wide range of cuisines to their dine-in options. If cinemas ceased to exist, movie-lovers would not fulfil their need for an immersive experience. Moreover, watching movies in a theatre is more than enjoying a movie, it is a great way of socialising. Opinion: In conclusion, despite the convenience the smart devices provide for movie-watchers, I strongly believe that theatres still remain an important option, especially for movie-goers, who prefer experience over convenience.