Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad.

The hosting of major sports events such as the Olympic, the Commonwealth Games is considered profiting by some people, while some feel it creates huge losses after the events. By hosting an international sports event a county can attain several benefits, one of which is that it benefits the tourism industry. Many sports fans will travel from all over the world to attend which consequently will nurture the country’s economy through tourism and entertainment. For this the government may also improve the transport facilities around the sports venue which can be benefitted even after completion of the tournament. For instance, people in London especially the eastern part of it, are still profited from public transportation projects which were constructed during the 2012 London Olympics. Although these sports events have their advantages it is impossible to ignore the long-lasting negative impact they leave on the host country. Some cities have seen an increase in taxes, post games to finance a loss of putting on the sporting event. These events have major advertisers sponsoring them due to which the local businesses suffer. For instance, these events have official drinking water, officials cold drinks, officials fast foods and if you're not able to pay a huge sum of money chances are you would not be able to sell anything inside the stadiums. To conclude I think the negative impacts of these events out ways its positives, so they should be hosted in developed countries instead of developing or underdeveloped ones. Instead of hosting such events, the government of developing countries can use the money for constructing infrastructure and improving public services such as education, health and transportation among the others.