Some people say that not anyone always knows how to have a healthy mind and body, and that the government should find ways to force everyone to take care of themselves. Discuss this view and explain which one you think is more effective, giving reasons in support of your answer.

We tend to live a more sedentary lifestyle nowadays, and this causes various health complaints such as obesity and mental stress. This worldwide phenomenon will not show any sign of abating unless urgent measures are taken. From my point of view, approaches relating to general education and laws ought to be taken into consideration. Firstly, it is true that some individuals may not be fully aware of the importance of a healthy life, and as a result acknowledging people about how to stay healthy is the priority. We can aim this process at children both at school and at home. To be specific, schools should incorporate Physical Education as a mandatory subject. By doing this, children can not only get exposed to outside activities, but they are also equally taught the required knowledge and simple lessons on their health and mind. At home, parents and family members can also help boost this process by teaching children how to relax with straightforward exercise such as moving hands or sitting meditation. Secondly, what concerns people nowadays is the uncontrollable increase in the consumption of sugar-based food and beverages, which is mainly responsible for overweight and obesity. Attention should accordingly be turned into reducing the excessive amount of sugar in food and beverages. In this case, the government should enact a law which strictly controls the manufacturing processes in factories. A high tax is also advised to be introduced on any product whose sugar content is higher than permitted. If there is a reduction in sugar consumption of people, this global trend will probably come down and people may be assured to use these products. To sum up, of the two measures above, it is my conviction that instilling the significance of building a healthy physical and psychological lifestyle in the public is more urgent because once every individual raises their awareness, they will attempt to change their lifestyle.