Due to population growth, many people these days live in apartments with limited space and no outdoor spaces? Do the advantages of this trend outweigh its disadvantages?

Owing to overpopulation in urban areas, many city dwellers live in cramped apartments. Opinions widely vary as to whether the spacious yard's disappearance with gardens in contemporary apartments is beneficial or not. Personally, I believe this change has both pros and cons, which will be discussed in this essay. Due to the increasing cost of living these days, apartments without outdoor spaces have become the norm, especially in metropolises. Indeed, apartments with limited spaces are less expensive; therefore, families can either save their money or spend on other sectors. Added to this, most people do not have enough time to do time-consuming maintenance tasks of outdoor spaces. However, living in a small apartment without outdoor spaces would cause adverse effects on individuals' overall well-being and development. There are several advantages to the existence of outdoor spaces in houses. In the first place, spending time outdoors can reduce mental fatigue, increase creativity, and ameliorate mental and physical well-being. Gardens in general, plants, in particular, can uplift individuals' mood, especially for those who suffer depression. In other words, people can reap the soothing benefits of sceneries and do gardening, helping them unwind. Furthermore, outdoor areas would be an exciting environment for family times such as birthday parties, holidays, and eating meals, which can bind up family ties and enhance interpersonal skills. Hence, It is a well-established fact that terraces or gardens are used for both aesthetic level or functional consideration. In conclusion, although living in apartments without outdoor spaces has its own advantages, its role for the mental and physical front cannot be ignored. So I am of the opinion that the merits of having gardens or balconies overshadow its demerits.