Some people say that it’s important to be completely honest in a relationship and there is never a good reason for lying? Do you agree?

It is not always vital, to tell the truth, as there are some situations where telling lies would be a better decision. Although saying the truth is what people usually want to do, I believe that untruth provides solutions to some problems in our lives. There are certain situations when it is better to tell lies. The most common one where lying can be acceptable is when it is done for sympathy and goodwill, which is the white lies. There are occasions when we have to conceal part of the truth or even twist facts. For example, patients being diagnosed with critical health issues such as cancer usually receive encouragement from both doctors and relatives who say that they will overcome their illness. The false hopes given in these circumstances can work as a placebo to give the patient motivation to not give up. Although it appears to be wrong at first sight, it is believed to be the thing that needed to be done. On the other hand, telling lies, even with good purposes, can make one suffer from the fear that their lie might be unveiled. For instance, the workplace is where lies can have a drawback as the correlation between people is more fragile than that of family members. Co-workers might find it disappointed when they know you lied. Therefore, it is hard to regain trust if your lie is discovered. Relationships built upon lies will not last for long, and though it is difficult, it is a lot better if one can be honest from the start. All in all, lying seems unharmed in certain cases. However, we still need to be careful when telling lies to not make those lies harmful to others and ourselves.