Some People Say That It Is Possible To Tell A Lot About A Person’s Culture And Character From Their Choice Of Clothing

A portion of society believes that the type of clothes a person wears reflects his/her personality and culture. While I do believe that way of clothing can tell a lot about a person's belief, immediately stereotyping and judging a person's character based on clothing should not be done. It is irrefutable that a person's attire can his/her tradition and cultural belief. As in many cultures, the dressing is done according to the occasion, as a fixed dress code was already framed by their ancestors for different events a long time ago. For example, In Hindus, at the death ceremony, attendees dress in all white to show their condolence. Based on these differences in clothing, a person's culture and tradition can stand out from others. However, forming an image by judging the person based on his/her clothes can sometimes lead to the wrong perception as there may be a rich heart under a poor coat. For instance, the former prime minister of India Dr Abdul kalam always wears a simple light-coloured suit but after listening to his speech one can know how intelligent, wise and selfless he was. Moreover, In India, older people have a common misconception that if a woman wearing short clothes then she may be indecent or belongs to an uncultured family. To conclude, I reiterate my opinion by saying that some information can be interpreted by having a cursory glance at the dress of a person but judging and treating the person based on that conception should be avoided as it helps in obstructing society from making stereotypes.