Some people say that it is possible to tell a lot about a person’s culture and character from their choice of clothes.

There is an opinion asserting that a lot can be inferred from the way people choose to dress. These interpretations can provide us with insights into others’ personality and cultural background. I, however, disagree with the given statement on the basis of financial constraints and mandatory social conventions. To begin with, the main reason is that financial circumstances are a determining factor when fashion is concerned. To put it another way, regardless of one’s taste in fashion, they are compelled to keep within their budget when purchasing a garment. This in turn excludes many options from someone’s shopping list simply because they may not be able to afford it even if the item is appealing. Take designer clothes which are astronomically expensive for example; they are normally affordable for only the privileged few and not others. Having said that, however, budget constraints are not the only causative factor in this respect. Another compelling argument against basing our judgment on one’s choice of attire as a clear indicator of their identity is that in many regions people have to conform to some established conventions. That is to say, these social norms have been around for so long that flouting them is considered the same as defying the law. A good illustration of this is clearly delineated by Islamic countries where Hijab is compulsory and not a matter of personal choice or freewill. Therefore, judging someone based on what they are wearing seems illogical and unfair. To conclude, I personally take the view that it is ethically unacceptable to interpret one’s character or culture based on how they appear. This is mainly because our choices are usually restricted by deciding factors such as our financial status and the norm or law which may or may not be approved by all.