Some people say that it is possible to tell a lot about a person’s culture and character from their choice of clothes.

In today’s societies, people have more freedom and a wider range of choices for selecting their cloths. It is generally believed that the type of clothes people wear have the ability to reflect their culture and character. My personal belief is that people’s choice of clothes is not the only factor to be taken into consideration for determining a person’s culture and character. It has been proved by scientists according to a number of studies that, the beliefs that people have been brought-up based on have a profound impact on their choices. For instance, a person who has grown up in a religious family is not much likely to select flashy clothes. Accordingly, individuals with different personalities usually select their cloths according to their personality features. It can easily be seen that, the more a person is optimistic and happy, the more tendency they have to choose more colorful clothes. One factor which may conflict with our judgments about people’s personalities based on their choice of clothes is the impact of peer pressures from the society and environment that they live or work in. Sometimes they lack freedom to choose their clothes and are obliged to wear specific kinds of clothes in order to obey the rules of work place or family and their wearing is not their choice. Another major element that effects people’ choices is the cost of clothes. In some cases, they fail to afford their desired ones and have to buy and wear clothes that are not their main taste. Society members, in most cases, tend to consider a well-dressed person with expensive clothes as a good one. Admittedly, this can be a wrong judgment because people usually wear based on their financial statuses. In way of conclusion, I reaffirm my position that however, some choices in some cases can reflect the culture and character of a person when it comes to judgment to make a fair judgment other decisive elements should be taken into account.