It is becoming more and more difficult to escape the influence of the media on our lives. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of living in a media rich society.

The influence of media on our lives has increased dramatically over the past 50 years with the development of technology. First, it was the newspaper, then the telegraph, radio, telephone, television and now the internet. Living in a media-rich society has not only good parts, but it also has drawbacks. Some of the advantages and disadvantages will be discussed in this order. One of the best advantages of media is the fact that information spreads around the world very fast. People can find out news about things that have happened on the other side of the world within few minutes from the moment of the event only by accessing the internet or by watching television. Another advantage of living in a world invaded by media consists of the huge amount of information delivered to citizens. Just by reading a newspaper, one finds news about many fields, for instance: sports, politics, economics, education and so on. Furthermore, being surrounded by media means that citizens are always aware of new products that appear on the market. However, living in a media-rich society does not come only with advantages, but disadvantages, too. For example, the information delivered to people through commercials is very often distorted in order to convince people to purchase a product they don’t even need. Furthermore, the content of the information can be disturbing for some people. Take as an example children who navigate on the internet: only by accessing an ordinary link, a pop-up window with adult content can open, without children’s permission or awareness. Also media is used by governments to manipulate people, controlling the information that is delivered by television to society. From these examples it can be concluded that media can have a bad influence on our lives. Following the analysis of the advantages and disadvantages it is obvious that media is a powerful tool and people need to be extremely aware of the power and influence media can have on our society.