Some people say that in our modern age, it is unnecessary to teach children about the skills of handwriting. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

It is argued by some that children should not be taught about handwriting ability since it is seen as redundant nowadays. I strongly disagree with this statement and think that handwriting skills are essentially important in today's digital world. To begin with, good handwriting has a positive impact on grades. In other words, teachers always appreciate neat and legible handwriting provided by their class, and they also tend to focus more on well-written papers. In the UK, for instance, a survey showed that around 75% of teachers claimed that the dexterity of writing is one of the essential criteria in evaluating exams and prefered to keep teaching how to improve as well. Furthermore, children are able to express their inner thought by writing with a pen rather than typing on the computer. Handwriting can help them slow down and fully engage with their ideas. Besides, they can retain learning better when studying a new idea through handwriting. For example, even if they lose what they have written before they would remember them smoothly. To conclude, in the era of technology the value of writing what can add to a child´s development cannot be compared by any computer or digital typing system. Therefore, in my point of view, handwriting should be maintained to teach for students since it is highly significant to teachers, and also a very effective way to write down what is in a child's mind.