Some people say that in all levels of education from primary schools to universities too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills. i

A number of people believes that in all stages of education, from elementary to tertiary more emphasis is places on theoretical learning than hands-on practical learning. I strongly agree with the notion because the educational curriculum is more facts learning based and also due to lack of adequate instructional material for life skills subjects. Firstly, the educational curriculum places more importance on theoretical aspects of learning since most graduates tends to work in offices which do not require practical skills. For example, companies in Nigeria train newly recruited staff on skills needed to work on their organisation as they feel most graduates do not have competent skills necessary for the workplace. Secondly, Inadequate basic equipments and instructional materials tends to affect the learning of practical skills and most teachers cannot educate students effectively. For instance, most students are asked to contribute for practical classes which some cannot afford consequently affecting the learning process of the students. In conclusion, i agree that more emphasis is placed on theoretical learning than hands-on practical learning in all levels of education.