Is freedom of speech necessary in a free society? Give reasons for your answer

Democracy is built on the premise, that all people are created equal, and everyone should have a right to express themselves. Freedom of speech is an essential and basic human right, which is one of the building blocks of democratic societies. Today’s free nations could not function without these basic freedoms. As a modern person could not imagine their life without these liberties. And in the event of having this right threatened, a large mass of people can step up against the reigning power. This can cause huge chaos in society and can even bring down a nation’s economy. People believe that freedom of speech does not need to be in full effect, in order for a nation to be considered truly free. I have not made up my mind fully about this issue, but I can say, elections need to be completely free, for a democratic society to properly function. Most modern-day governments make laws with this in mind, and it is their obligation to do so. In the era of democracy, the people in power cannot overlook the basic rights of their people. And must base their decisions according to the founding rights of their countries. In some cases, governments need to use loopholes around the laws, to function effectively, for example dealing with dangerous terrorist as America does in Guantanamo Bay. My view on this issue, is quite complicated. As I believe, that without our basic human rights humanity can only move towards its doom. Although there are some situations, where these rights should be overlooked, but the latter can never be truly decided on, because it is a question of personal morals and ethics.