Some people say that history has nothing to teach us. Others, however, believe that to understand the present, we must learn from the past.

In this day and age, in order to lead a smooth and hassle-free life, people not only hinge on state-of-the-art technologies but also take lessons from the story of their ancestors. Resultantly, whereas some individuals opine that there is nothing to learn from histories, others contend that without having a deep understanding of past events, it is next to impossible to comprehend present circumstances. I, too, wholeheartedly believe that taking lessons from the past is conducive to solving many issues of the present world. History is considered unimportant, for it does not add value to our day to day life. To be more precise, by knowing and memorising hundreds of thousands of historical events along with dates, people invariably occupy their brain’s memory that has no practical implication in life. Individuals only get to know some stories of war, love and so on, but such stories will never match with the events of today’s advanced world. Therefore, reading and learning histories are many a time and oft regarded as a wastage of time because there is nothing to learn. Plausible though it may seem that similar type of historical events will not repeat, it would be worth arguing that people should get notions from the past so as to have clear understandings pertaining to the causes of many issues. To put it simply, everything in this world happens for some reasons, and every event has afterwards consequences. Hence, if we do not search for information from the past, it is impossible to get solid ideas and solutions to many problems. To cite an example, after conducting empirical researches on global warming and sea level rising from the 100 years data, scientists are now able to provide silver bullet points to curb environmental problems. In essence, much as in more often than not time history seems to be impractical, without deeper understandings about it, it would be cumbersome to get a clear idea about the present. Eventually, I buttress the stand of taking lessons from the past.