Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end hunger and poverty, while others say that economic growth is damaging the environment so it must be stopped.

Currently, economic growth appears to become the major topic, which is forcing the government and population to ponder about. There are supporters of the idea that such a flourishing economy is the only solution to issues like starving and poverty, whereas others are against it since it can be risky for the nature surrounding us. While it is certainly true that an economic upswing can put an end to such mentioned problems, I believe that the environment is also harmed by a thriving economy as well. On the one hand, should the countries achieve sustainable economic prosperity, this spontaneously will affect positively the lifestyle of their inhabitants. In other words, being industrially advanced enables states so as to provide their citizens materially since they would not dependent on foreign supply outputs. This can also stem step from contraction of unemployment as manufacturing areas create more additional jobs and the population will be able to stay self-sufficient, ; at least with staple foods. As a result, countries get out of the circle of poverty and hunger. On the other hand, as the states develop economically, environmental degradation will increase. That is to say, expanding having expanded in industrial zones results in a growth of discharging chemical waste. The rise in carbon footprint not only can be a detrimental trouble to nature but also even to life on earth. To introduce, ozone layer depletion, which is mostly caused causes by toxic waste produced in such manufacturing areas, weakens protection from ultraviolet rays or melting icebergs can be a reason for raising the level of water that has an implication for flooding in some cities. Therefore, life on earth is getting worse. The conclusion to be drawn is that the influence of economic growth of states addresses problems of hunger and destitution, and, at the same time, it can be ground for ecological issues. Should this economic upturn be sustainable not only for the peoples’ status but also for that of the environment, in my view, it ought to be conducted.