Some people say that Ebooks aGovernments in many countries have recently introduced special taxes on foods and beverages with high levels of sugar. Some think these taxes are a good idea while others disagree. nd modern technology will totally replace traditional newspaper and magazines

Across the world, many nations have implemented special taxes on foods and beverages with high sugar levels. While some people support this move, others oppose. In my opinion, imposing tax on sugary foods and drinks is a good idea as it improves public health and reduces the burden on public health care systems. On the one hand, many people support the special taxes on food items containing high levels of sugar mainly because this measure helps to maintain good health. In other words, the imposition of higher taxes reduces the consumption of sugary foods and beverages by increasing their price. As a result, the fat levels will be in control for most of the individuals. These changes in food habits minimize / reduce the risks of heart problems and other fat-related diseases. So, obviously, this measure is in public interest. On the other hand, some people opine that the government has no business interfering with people’s food choices. After all, adults are capable of choosing what is right and wrong for them. Hence, in their opinion, if the government deliberately increases tax on sugary foods with the sole objective of making them unaffordable to people, it violates people’s rights. However, in my opinion, this argument does not hold much water because it is a well-known fact that sugary foods lead to health problems in people and as the government spends the most of public health, it has the right to control the consumption of unhealthy foods. A lot of people even in developed countries depend entirely on public healthcare programs and hence if they eat whatever they want and end up in hospitals, it does not benefit anyone. In conclusion, I fully support the argument that the government should increase tax on sugary drinks and foods with the objective of reducing their consumption. These foods are known to cause health problems in people and as such their consumption should be controlled.