is there an event or incident related to your life that has helped you grow, challenged you or motivated you? what was that event? How has it changed you or influenced you?

Everyone has had an incident in their life that helped them grow by challenging them and pushing their boundaries. Incidents like those really shape or break a person. When I reflect back on things that helped me grow, a few situations come to my mind. Even then, the incident that helped me grow the most would be when I accepted to deliver a speech in our school’s morning assembly where over 100 students and teachers are present. It is quite the chance to get over your stage fright and develop good public speaking skills. Therefore, when I was offered to speak in the assembly, I was overwhelmed because it means a lot to speak on the stage and the fact that my teachers wanted me to do that, I felt proud. I took up the challenge to deliver a speech in English and overcome my insecurities. I practiced really hard for it. So the day when I was going to deliver a speech came closer, I became a nervous wreck. My introvert and shy personality contradicted my determination and dedication which in return affected my overall self. One moment I was thinking of acing the speech and getting great feedback from everyone, then the next moment I’m wondering about the negative outcomes where I stutter, or forget a few lines and embarrass myself. No one knew what I felt in the last few days before the big day. But I managed to stay calm and distracted myself from thinking about it and submerged myself in studies and music. When the day did come when I was to speak, I reached the courtyard earlier than usual, as was required of me. I even spent a little more time than usual on my looks to make myself look more presentable. After I reached the place, I saw students starting to fill in and I became a bundle of nerves and zoned out till the assembly started. After the prayers, and a few words from the compere, it was my turn to go up the stage and speak. I took a few deep breaths to calm myself and went up the stage and stood in front of the mic. I took glance at the audience and started to panic slightly when I heard the cue for me to start speaking. I gathered up all the courage in me and started delivering my speech on “Being A Girl”. I made sure to not look anyone in the eye and instead focused my gaze on the walls behind the audience. Somewhere during my speech, my voice cracked a bit as I had caught a cold the previous day. However, I did not dwell on that and continued as if nothing had happened, but did not fail to notice a few snickers that were shared among a few students. Though I did not let it affect me during my speech, it left a deep impact on me. After my speech, I got down the stage and stood at the back when the aftereffect of what happened during my speech hit me like a truck. I instantly regretted going up the stage and promised myself to never do something like that ever again. I was feeling down for the rest of the day. My friends did not know what happened and had not even realized that my voice cracked. They praised me for doing great on the stage but those few students’ reaction was still on my mind. After a few months, I volunteered to speak in the assembly again; the negative responses of the previous time, long forgotten. I prepared harder this time and gave a way better performance than before. From then on, I have spoken in the assembly quite a few times, and have seen myself improving and gaining more confidence every time. The incident that happened that time during my first ever speech, has helped me grow and learn a lot.