Some people say that all popular TV entertainment programmes should aim to educate viewers about important social issues. with this statement?

These days many critics argue that the television industry should be focused on developing educational(informative) programs(serials) related to problems in society. In my opinion, the main motive (purpose, goal)of TV is to entrain however media can be used to bring awareness of social affairs by integrating educational content in famous (prominent, well-known)TV shows. Therefore I partially agree with the statement and discuss both cases in the subsequent paragraphs(statements). On the one hand, because in the today's fast-paced world when everyone is swamped(overwhelm) with responsibilities, expectations, feel frustrated, experience tiredness, facing mental stress and so on, entrainment shows can play a key role for them to break the monotony of life. At this point, plays filled with social topics seem to be irrelevant(pointless, inappropriate) for them. For example, in India, many people believe that a comedy show named KapildSharmats with kapil sharma" acted as a stress buster for them. Moreover, from the last decade demand for reality shows is dramatically heightening as an audience feels connected with the common people on the show directly. Hence these kinds of programmes should be appreciated. on the other hand, if telecasters involve significant social issues such as drug abuse, discrimination, sex abuse, environmental problems then the solution of numerous problems can be reached to a wider circle of people. To be clearer, many popular entertainment programs have a considerable proportion of viewers irrespective of age and gender which is why everyone in the country can be addressed about these crises swiftly and effectively. Additionally, the knowledge or consciousness acquiring by those shows proactively protect people from possible dangers and improve the quality of their living standard. To conclude, television is meant for providing both education and entertainment, if used properly, it is an excellent invention that brings both knowledge and fun to the living room.