Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it.

There is no doubt that advertising is everywhere. While some people believe that advertisements are very enticing for the consumers, others argue that they have become a part of our daily life and people ignore them. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the argument and explain my support for the former view. On the one hand, is true that adverts are extremely common and that this might have impacted how much attention we pay it. This is because advertisements are displayed repeatedly during tv shows and YouTube videos, which causes annoyance to the spectators. For example, individuals skip immediately advertisements on YouTube or change a Tv channel because they find commercials very intrusive. Moreover, most people have a hectic schedule and they do not have time to pay attention to commercials. Therefore, advertising for these sorts of people is of no value. On the other hand, I feel that advertising is ubiquitous and influences us subliminally without even realizing it. The reason is that we are constantly bombarded with commercials due to the improvement of technology. For instance, adverts are pop up on our electronic devices, appear on websites, emails and social media. Especially, when someone reaches for a product online, then tones of adverts appear on every website that he uses. Moreover, advertisers now work with phycologists to find ways to affect people insidiously. Therefore, individuals when see products advertised, they became desperate to purchase and posse them. As a result, the desire of consuming leads to a materialistic society, in which people are victims of advertising. To sum up, although advertising become a part of our daily life and people are irritated about it, my view is that it is still hugely influential because of technological innovations. The advancements of technology are a powerful tool for marketers to attract our attention and convince us to buy things that we do not really need.