Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Advertisements are one of the mediums to educate and create a need about a certain product, place and practically anything that money can buy. With the onset of electronic communication, advertisements can be presented through televisions, the internet, telephones, mobile phones etc. But, so to speak practically everything in this world comes with its pro and cons. Advertisements are one of the aspects of revenue generation for organizations worldwide. For an organization to thrive and succeed it has to find a way to let people know about its products. Advertisements are a way to do that. Some advertisements are quite compelling in nature which makes a consumer buy the product even if he or she does not need it. One such example is an insurance product. Insurance companies advertise their insurance offerings through television or the internet that creates a sense of urgency or scare which makes consumers think that they have not done enough to secure the future of their families. Consumers fall prey to their big talks given through advertisements and don't look through the fine lines of its terms and conditions which are not advertised or discussed by the insurance agents. Consumers eventually buy insurance that may not be needed. Ultimately, insurance organizations get a portion of the premium paid as their commission and when the time comes to reimburse the consumers these organisations come up with a lot of technicalities or terms that consumers might not be aware of. Some advertisements too have their advantages. With the ongoing covid-19 pandemic, there is a need for citizens around the globe to get immunized as soon as possible. Advertisements about the vaccines from governmental organizations and pharmaceutical companies educate people about its benefits and side effects. Therefore, it helps people know what to expect and eventually helps improve living conditions. In addition, advertisements about how to follow certain protocols during the pandemic are an added benefit that shows the efforts taken by the governing bodies and pharmaceutical companies to keep people safe. Advertisements are necessary in this age as a lot of consumers around the world rely on electronic media for their source of information for many products. Organizations should not show misleading advertisements to boost their sales. On the other hand, if numerous unnecessary restrictions are imposed on advertisements it would be difficult for organizations to thrive in this global market and eventually it would have an impact on global economies. Eventually, consumers alone can decide which advertisements are beneficial or not beneficial for them.