Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think that school time should be used in learning important subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

It is often argued that children should learn the cooking skill in the school whereas, other insist that other than science of food there are some other important subjects that students should learn. There are valid opinions to weigh both the sides of the discussions which I will consider in the following paragraphs. The proponents of first view said that the culinary skills should be learned by the pupils at early age so that it develops the healthy eating habits in the children. The children become obese by eating convenience food as they don’t know how to prepare food. For instance, a survey found that students eat fast food approximate twice a week as they don’t know the effects of eating junk food. Moreover, the cooking skill will be beneficial for them in the future as when they live alone in some other country then they will not face any food problems. Consequently, this cooking skill is very important for the teenagers. The proponents of second view said that there are other important subjects such as physics, chemistry, mathematics and so forth on which students should focus as these subjects will strengthen their problem-solving skills and will give knowledge which will helpful in seeking a job. In addition, learning subjects such as science of food will reduces the hours for other important subjects such as mathematics. A fitting example is that as a research in Europe found that the number of people who are weaker in maths are increasing. Eventually, taking other subjects in Account will decrease the learning time for important subjects. In conclusion, although learning cooking skill is important, children should focus on other useful subjects. However, I tend to believe that parents should take the responsibility of teaching cooking and healthy eating habits to the children.