Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Advertising is the fundamental tool of marketing. With the advancement in technology and social media, watching advertisements has become a part of our lives. We cannot find any part of internet without a product being marketed on it. More often than not it does lure us to spend money on products which when bought might just be sitting idle on our shelves or be packed up in our closet and forgotten. As per the middle east statistics company about 38% people buy unwanted products due to well made ads shown to them on social media. But on the other hand if these products were never advertised it would be a hard time searching for whats new and better. It does help us reach better Doctors and health centers aswell. So advertising do offer us the required information or keeping us updated with the new trends and technology. It does serve the purpose of reaching masses and also helps the companies market their products and reach their sales target. Social media is the most preffered place to market a merchandise as majority of the internet users use it on daily basis. Thats the reason we see a sudden increase in social media advertisements. In my opnion i am more inclined towards the fact that advertising do encourage us to spend more money on products we don't need. Referring to reports is a good way to prove a point but in this case that report can be considered in the form of our credit card bills. Comparison between bills of today and that from a decade ago are more than sufficient to prove that we do spend more money on products now than what we used to earlier. this do support the argument of spending money but to prove the next part of the equation about products we don't need and we buy, we just have to look around our house and we will find ample things lying around unused or rarely used and on some instances when we find a forgotten product we do remember when we bought it but we never used it. With these arguments i conclude that advertisements do make us spend on products we don't need.