In some countries owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people, Why might this be the case? Do you think this is positive or negative situation?

Nowadays, accommodation has become a very essential factor in some parts of the world. While some people prefer to own a home, others rent one. In this essay, the reasons as well as the advantages and disadvantages of this issue are discussed. Owning a home is a point of interest because of two different reasons. Firstly, rental payment is high in some countries especially in urban areas, as a result the tenant should pay high amount of mortgages while if owning the house they do not have the stress of paying the rent each month or week depending on the country they live in. The second reason is, in many parts of the globe buying a house is an investment. For example, in Iran due to inflation if someone bought a house three years ago, at the recent year it would be three times as high as the price he paid at first. In my opinion, the benefits of owning a house outweighs its drawbacks. One reason is that if each family owns a house for themselves they would feel more confident and also they can decorate their house the way that suits them, while when the person is living in a rental house it is prohibited to change the decoration and if they do, they have to compensate later when leaving the house. For instance, a family with three children owning a house with two bedrooms for the kids can divide one of the bedrooms to two parts so each child has a place for himself. Also an increase in the number of people owning their house instead of renting them leads to the reduction of the rental payment, so those who are challenging with poverty can also have an accommodation for themselves. As an example, in Iran in some rural areas most people have their own house and fewer people rent, this fact causes less rental payment for tenants at these parts of the country. On the other hand, in big cities and towns most people are tenants and the competition between these people resulted in higher rate of rent and mortgages. In another words, in urban areas a small proportion of people are the owners of high percentage of the houses and most people are renting. However, this statement has some problems such as overpopulation in big cities, in a case that the housing rent declines more people would be attracted to live in towns instead of the countryside or villages, in my idea this issue may be solved by growing the job opportunities in rural areas. As a conclusion, owning a house is money saving and less stressful. It can be beneficial in many ways such as giving confidence to the family owning the house and reducing the rental payment.