Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

In the 21st century world, everyone has a plethora of options to choose from, ranging from a pin to an enormous machine. Advertising, along with technology, plays an integral role in deciding which way to go. A number of people believe that it encourages us to buy things that we really don't need, however, others have the opinion that it tells us about the latest products in the market that was initially unknown to us, which in turn help in improving our lives. If we compare this time to the older one, this generation has more skill and opportunities to grow and earn well, which encourages them to shop more. Advertising strongly targets those customers with the help of social media, for example, Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, and so on. The major revenue of these companies comes from advertising. So, they put a lot of effort into providing customized and personalized content as far as Ads is concerned. As the general public is too active on these social media platforms, they get attracted to the things which they don't really need. For example, my wife was recently looking for a bag which she needed for a long time, then suddenly an Ad for a gorgeous dress popped out, which she wasn't been able to resist and ordered anyway. On the contrary, many folks are a believer of the fact that advertisements are of enormous help, which indeed lands into the content, which significantly improves our lives. For instance, I was researching to buy a smartwatch for quite a long time but I was in a dilemma due to the huge range of options available in the market. Advertisers helped me to a great extent to select the model which I wasn't aware of earlier, like the Samsung Galaxy Avctive Watch 2. Although both views have their own pros and cons, I firmly believe that advertising is more of a boon than a curse, if handled judiciously.