Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives.

Advertisements today are a billion-dollar industry, from a 1$ pen to a 100, 000$ car, everything is on a bulletin. This fondness for ads has created segments amongst the population where few believe that advertisements stimulate them towards unnecessary expenses whereas, others believe that it helps them to know the market more effectively. Well, it is hard to hold just one hand here and therefore, this essay will explore both sides of the coin and hence, while we discuss how advertisements promote false needs, we will also see its benefits in shaping our life better. There is no denying to the fact that many companies lure consumers by unethical or misleading advertisements which creates negative influence and insecurities in their viewers. To support the first argument, let us take the example of body spray advertisements, it project companies promote their products to make us believe that they attract opposite gender, which leads consumers to purchase a range of products irrespective of their skin type, moving onto our second argument, many mobile companies advertise their newly launched phones as so high tech and the latest that it creates insecurities amongst the consumers towards their year-old phones being obsolete which lead them to purchase a brand new phone irrespective of any actual need. In contrast to the above arguments, there are lots of benefits that advertisements bring to our life. Most prominently, advertisements help humanity by bridging up the gap between the consumers and the manufacturers by creating better product visibility and by giving consumers ample options for their demand. Another factor where advertisements play a beneficiary role is by sustaining healthy competition amongst the sellers and thus minimizing monopoly. Imagine a scenario with no advertisements, make everyone locally dependent on supply with limited options and may end up paying as per the will of limited manufacturers. To sum up, we can say advertisements can manipulate you in buying things irrespective of your needs but can also come handy in knowing your options in the market better. Therefore, it is up to consumers to understand their need precisely and not to fall in any trap to misleading advertisements.