Many people find it hard to balance their work with other parts of their lives. What are the reasons for this? How can this problem be overcome?

Work life balance has become an integral matter in the 21st century when there is a significant increase in economic development, to be specific. However, most of the population are struggling to achieve it. There are several reasons which lead to this situation. One main reason is that many companies put too much pressure on their employees in order to meet targets and market demands. Companies have their workers deal with overwhelming workload, thus they sometimes have to work overtime or spend all day at the workplace. Another thing that discourages people to balance their work with their personal life is the competitive environment at the office. It is believed by many that beating others on meeting KPI is the only way to get promotion, especially for fresh graduates. Peer pressure has risen to be an indispensable problem that most of them have faced, which might result from the standards some parents set based on others’ career. The work life unbalance was and is affecting people’s life adversely, such as decreasing their health functions. It is essential that some measures should be taken to improve this situation. Firstly, for corporations, setting a proper target and creating a challenging but positive working environment need focusing on. This will assist employees in enhancing both their physical and mental health condition due to more time spent on their personal issues, hence their productivity will be vitally elevated. Secondly, parents should stop comparing their own children with others’ children. It is fundamental that every child has freedom to follow their dream job instead of putting every effort in meeting their parents’ expectations. Finally, although salary and promotion are important, family and other personal aspects also play an undeniable crucial role in one's success, which means balancing all of that should be the ultimate goal. In conclusion, most people are unable to take care of both work life and personal life due to hard working load and peer pressure. Some solutions can be taken to encourage this situation to settle down by the company, parents or employees themselves.