Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Nowadays, companies spend a fortune on advertising their products. While a number of people are in opinion that advertisement persuade to buy unnecessary thing, others opine that they introduce us to commodities that make our lives better. In my opinion, even though promotions might help us in getting touch with latest and greatest, they often make us fall prey for unnecessary goods because of the following reasons delusive advertisements and needless discounts. Promotions create a illusion about the benefits of the items. Although the disadvantages are more of concern, they are concealed with deceptive marketing strategies. For instance, health drinks target the young age group by making the commercial with movie or sports super stars thus making them think that consuming the drink would make them stronger and fitter like their heroes. However, in reality, they are high in sugar content which is injurious to their health. Therefore, it is evident that using the marketing gimmicks companies trick people buying unwanted things. Discounts play an important role in shopping these days. With products available at lower cost than market price, people tend to buy them even though it is not the need of the hour. For example, e-commerce companies like Amazon, Flipkart etc celebrate festival seasons with discount sale and many flock to buy the merchandise they might not need. Hence, one must be careful as not to shop unwanted goods even though they are available at cheap price. To conclude, People must shop more judiciously in this modern era. Even though commercials do help in getting touch with latest in market, they cause more harm by luring the customers to purchase a lot of unwanted items.