Some people believe the purpose of education should be helping the individual to become useful for society, while others believe it should help individuals to achieve their ambitions.

There is debate about the objective of education among different groups of people where one group presumes that the aim of education to make an individual fit for serving the society while another group assumes that the aim should be creating the way for an individual to fulfil his ambitions. This essay will discuss both sides of the statement and it will also explain why the purpose of education should guide people to play a beneficial role for society. The reason why the motto of education should be society-centred is that the development of society requires intellectual decisions and broad mind. The educated people have a broad spectrum of knowledge so that they can evaluate both the positive and negative aspects of an action by a proper judgement. For example, most of the developed countries in the world are utilizing their highly-educated people in the sectors where it requires to make vital decisions like currency distribution among different sectors, disaster management, public health programs and foreign affairs. They are doing this as well as getting benefitted from this approach as educated people are often responsible and meritorious to execute their decisions and consequently favouring the society. On the other hand, another group believes that education should help them in achieving their personal ambitions which sound to be a selfish approach. It is true that everybody wants to build up a worthy career according to their educational qualification, however, it doesn't seem to be the thinking of an ideal citizen. For instance, numerous graduates from developing are preferring to render their service to the developed countries because of higher salary and living standards. Thus, a certain proportion of people are only concentrating on their own goals and achievements rather than feeling the necessity of their service for their country and countrymen. In my opinion, the purpose of education should be to make people intelligent enough to do something for the society they live in. The education system should also focus on creating awareness about self-development among the educated people to achieve success in their career but not by ignoring their social duties.