Write about the following topic. Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

I think everyone can divide the advertisements into the useful and the useless ones. It's like going to a hotel lobby and picking up the brochure of your interest. Advertisements are a vital part of our lives and can be seen everywhere from paper media to print media. I am not a sports person, therefore the advertisement related to sports or its products are useless for me. However that doesn't mean that I don't have any sports items, I do have some badminton and tennis rackets gifted by my friend and family, some are also awarded in some school or college ceremonies. I guess it's the effect of mass advertisement that people tend to but those things that may not be necessary for them. For instance, if there is an offer on any gym equipment and it's been advertised continuously, I may think of getting it, knowing, I am not gonna use it later on. So thats the idea of mass advertisement that may encourage people to buy things they don't really need. On the other hand, the advertisements on new products or technology launch are very useful for the society. Advertisment of a new washing powder with nano technology or, noise-free vacuum clear or dust-proof paints keeps the people updated and informative. Few days ago, I saw an advertisement providing a very cheap trip to Australia. I and my family was planning to go for so long. We have already enrolled and waiting for our confirmation. Who knows, we will be traveling soon? So, if that advertisement won't be there, we would have missed the opportunity. To Conclude, A fairness cream ad. may attract the person who wants to lighten their skin tone, whereas the tan cream advertisement attracts the one who wants it to be darker. All the advertisements, depending on the person's requirement can be categorized as the useful and useless ones.