People who cause their own illnesses through unhealthy lifestyles and poor diets should have to pay more for health care. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Unhealthy eating habits and lifestyles are contributing to numerous diseases. The treatment of these sort of diseases are often costly and leads to excessive burden on health care system. It is argued that patients of these diseases should pay more for health care as they were caused due to poor lifestyle habits and choice of eating. I disagree to this statement more than agreeing due to the reasons mentioned in this essay. Unhealthy lifestyle and eating habits are not entirely due to poor choices and habits on part of an individual but they may arise due to hectic work schedule and long working hours. A survey conducted by New York Times reported that lifestyle diseases are increasing 14% every year across the world. Most hourly paid employees have to work long hours to meet ends throughout their lives. Working for long hours lead to neglect of lifestyle and food habits as they might take a back shift in the priority while taking care of umpteen other things. Also, there are certain lifestyle diseases such as diabetes and heart conditions that may be caused due to genetic predispositions and it is hard to make out of the real cause of these diseases. In that case, it would be unfair for patients with these diseases to pay more just because they have a lifestyle disease. However, everyone should be encouraged to maintain a healthy lifestyle incorporating balanced diet and physical activity. Although, lifestyle disease are on the rise and everyone is facing the burden of increased health care cost in an universal health care system, we should not put additional burden with patients of lifestyle diseases. All patients should be treated equally without any form of prejudices. However, everyone should be taught the benefits of eating healthy and practicing a healthy lifestyle.