Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Generally speaking i agree with the latter part, Advertisements helps us to know about new products/technology that may improve our lifestyle. As we all know, Science has increased its parameters to a large extent and their are number of new inventions almost everyday. And to make people aware of these new inventions or technologies, advertisement is the only way to reach out to masses. Lets consider day to day work in which new technology has helped a lot. For e. g. cleaning of house, previously mopping/brooming were time cosuming but after invention of Vaccumm cleaner & mopping machines, the same task can be completed within minutes and too more efficiently. This way people can save their time too without exerting themselves. Now, how people would come to know about this new invention without the help of Advertisement. There are lots of ways like word of mouth, display in shops etc. but then that would take too long for a technology to reach people. Advertisment takesr few hours or i should say just 2-3 minutes \(to be precise) to introduce a new technology to the general public. With the help of advertisement we can convey the message using one channel to reach out to large number of people for e. g. radio, television, newspaper, pamplets etc. Advertisement is one of the best and easiest way to introduce a product to public. It completely depends on the users to buy it or not. Advertisement never forces anyone to buy the product. if people are tempted by the advertising, it completely depends on how much that product is useful to that person. If the new product/technology is going to benefit that person he/she will buy it, if not then they will not buy. but its not the advertising that influences or encourages people to buy the prodcut, its theirt need and power to purchase which matters at the end.