: Waste disposal has become a major problem in your community. Some people say that the solution is for the government to provide waste bin for every household. DO AGREE OR DISAGREE.

Waste disposal has become a major problem in our present day community. Some people are saying the government should provide waste bin for every household. I tend to disagree with this, as it will be far more easily done by individuals to proffer solutions, and keep the community clean. It is very important to keep your environment clean. "Cleanliness is next to Godliness". When an environment is clean, people staying have a healthy life. For this reason; people should buy waste bin, store waste in it and dispose of waste as at when due. Government cannot go from house to house to distribute waste bin. Due to the present economic situation of the country, I doubt if that will be possible. Another valid reason is an environment that is dirty due to neglect and I don't care attitude. This leads to block drainage system, stagnant water, litters of refuse dumped in the streets, non disposal of waste bin as at when due. This causes smells in the environment, which makes it unsafe for the inhabitants. Individuals should take it upon themselves to clean the drains and household and ensure waste disposal is regular. From my own experience, many estates nowadays are not well channelled, in terms of waste disposal. I visited one recently in Abuja and the place was smelling. This made me uncomfortable and decided to leave immediately. I think estate developers should take waste disposal very seriously. Liquid waste should be well channelled, while solid waste should be kept in waste bin neatly and disposal be regular. Conclusively, waste disposal problems in communities should not be left to the government alone to solve, as individuals have a significant role to play as well, for a healthy environment.