Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

I believe that advertising is a boon and not a bane as it spreads awareness about many products. As a consumer, one has many needs and advertising not only informs but also entertains. If advertising was not there, many consumer problems would have not been solved. Just through the means of television commercials, a customer gets to understand the various features of the products by sitting in the comfort of his home. So, whenever he needs to buy a product, he won't have to do much research as the particular advertisement has already played its role and helped him to make up his mind. Last night only, I was watching a film on the television, and saw a commercial about a mixer blender. And a thought came to my mind about switching to a healthier and easy breakfast option. Everyday i get late for office and having a mixer blender at home would really help me make a beetroot smoothie which is quite nutritious. This would further save time. The very next day i went to the market and bought the Kingston mixer blender for myself. And, it's not only about buying products, sometimes a commercial can even crack you up. No matter how bad a day you had at the office, a witty advertisement can actually put a smile on your face. Just imagine if there were no advertisements, how would one get to know about the best toothpaste or even the latest gym membership offer. In a way advertising also promotes fitness and a healthy lifestyle.