Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Ever since the dawn of the Industrial Revolution, the market got flooded with products and services. There was something for everyone's need and everyone's greed. With products, came advertising. It started with information, but over the years, advertising has shaped the consumer behavior from fast fashion to electronics. While catching the eyes of your consumer might sound like advertising, it is definitely not the case anymore. Advertisements and product placement has more to do with our social interaction. Advertisements have shifted from What to Why and that has changed the game altogether. While ethics are a significant part of sales, frugal management and cut-throat competition has spawned malpractices and misuse of advertising. While convenience drives decisions on purchase, industries have used advertising to create products which might not even be needed. A good example is the need for a new smartphone every 6 months, which is definitely a false narrative created by smartphone manufacturers. The need to have such powerful performance phones is not for everyone, but advertising generalizes the idea and people have followed. A useful product will always find a way into one's life. Advertising just creates the demand, which sometimes is useless. This is where the conscious buyer comes in. We need more people who read the ingredients list, check manufacturing, draw lines between need and want. Similarly, the advertising industry needs more conscious and ethic driven professionals to change the focus of market from demand to needs. If we strike the balance between both, we can change the way we live. It's like when Mahatma Gandhi said, "Earth can provide everything for everyone's needs, but not for everyone's greed. "