Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Many believe that advertising entice people to purchase things they don't require whereas others says it introduces them with new products in the market which may help to enhance their lives. I agree with the view that advertising entice people to purchase unnecessary things. My friend Chen is a software engineer and he never goes out for hiking. Few days back he saw a very attractive add for a new type of hiking shoes and decided to buy them just because he liked the advertisement. He never though of its usage. This is the power of a good commercial add. Another of my friend is a musician and he needs a laptop for very general purpose usage like one which can accommodate good audio and video editing tools, good recorder and camera. However when I went to shop with him he fixated on buying a Alienware laptop, which of course if good with all his requirement, but has a different purpose altogether. It is a hardcore gaming laptop which costs a fortune. I asked him reason and he too gave me a very familiar response, a lucrative add influenced him to buy it. List of such cases is endless and this clearly shows how a well curated add can allure people to buy commodities or services they don't even need. To conclude, I fully support the argument that advertising attracts people to run after things they do not need.