Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Since the era of industrialization, advertisement has been a part of the society and same has seeped into the modern era with a modern flavor. Advertisements are an integral part of making a sale for products; whether they are useful or not are solely buyer's opinions. I do agree with the fact that without advertisement, we wouldn't know what is available on the market or if some brands are better than others. But I would emphasize that most modern advertising pushes people towards making unnecessary purchases. To explain my viewpoint, I would share 2 examples. First advertisement strategy is promoting "clearance sales" as "Season's Sale" or "Black Friday" where most of the products are on discounts ranging from 30% to 50%. Since people find such sales lucrative and think they can save a lot more, such sales are heavily advertised from as early as a month before the actual sale dates. These advertisements fill the entire Social media, television and radio spaces with the promotion of forthcoming sales. Products which were never popular during the year have now become "hot-sellers". Another such case is "Online advertisement" which utilises modern software coupled with users browsing history as a means to promote certain products by acting as "click-baits". This method would fill their web browsing with advertisements of the same or related products or with "Frequently brought together" so to speak. Such an approach tempts the users into making purchases they would regret someday. I would conclude by saying that advertisements are a fantastic way to promote goods and provide exposure to products which might be as good as branded ones and need enough recognition. But excessive use of social media and internet platforms have turned advertising as a means to sell scrap under the guise of useful products.