Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Advertising is a very effective way of communicating the features of a product or service. Although it persuades people to buy things which are sometimes not even required, but it also educates us about the product/service which gives a detailed brief about it. In my opinion, it does push people to buy unnecessary things at times. Advertising can prove to be an extremely persuasive means off communication for the public. It aims at increasing the sales of a specific product or service. Nowadays, almost all the advertisements are done by famous celebrities who aim at endorsing the product for the company. These celebrities are highly paid according to their popularity in the industry. Since, the celebrities endorse a particular product, the general public is naturally motivated and encouraged to buy the same, even sometimes at a premium price. This results in purchase of an unwanted product. On the other hand, some people believe that advertisements give required knowledge about a specific product. This is true to some extent, but not to the extent to conclusively say that the knowledge will improves our lives. For instance, an advertisement of a lipstick will try to convince people by mentioning the features of the product like, softness, color, longevity etc. , but it also ensures to hire a celebrity to do this and adds unnecessary details about the lipstick which in turn forces or pushes the buyer to purchase the product. To conclude, while the advertisements are a useful tool to educate the customers about the product, they should not be used as a means to give unrealistic expectations to the customer which results in unnecessary purchase.