Some people say that a life-time prison is a good way to prevent crime.

Criminal activities cause relentless problems in the societies, from substantial costs to insecurity and even death. To avoid these problems, many strategies such as prolonged imprisonment are developed to lower the crime. Personally, I believe methods which address different scopes of crime would be more practical in this matter. Spending more years behind the bars may be a great way to reduce crime by scaring potential criminals and breaking their network. Before turning to crime, individuals estimate the penalty as if they get caught up. But what if the price is to be in prison too long to lose their youth and even family? Well, for many this is scary enough to give up on their criminal intentions. Additionally, most of the crime are reported to be carried out by a team of criminals. Keeping the accused in prison for longer duration can make the whole criminal network collapsed as one piece is left from the group, so there will not be any planned crime to commit. Although this method can be effective at some points, there are objections to it as it does not work on the roots of the crime, or there is a possibility for the prisoners to escape from their long prison punishment. While there are more practical strategies such as improved police force and education which can act as the most effective deterrent for the ones committing crime. Lack of monitoring in the cities, especially in crime-prone areas enables the criminals to break the law more easily as no one would recognize them. But if the government add to the number of police guards and surveillance cameras in the city, the offenders will not dare to commit crime. Additionally, many of the criminals come from dysfunctional environments where they have not been well-educated on social rules. If those people acquire how to behave properly in society and know the consequences of criminal activities, there are lower chances to commit crime. In doing so, different lessons regarding social laws and manners should be taught at schools to nurture obedient citizens. To conclude, I think only with strong presence of the police and proper education can a society reach lower rate of crime.