Some people say studying languages should be compulsory for all school students. Others argue that it should be optional.

The debate of whether students should study languages as necessary subjects or not has become popular in nowadays. In my opinion, I would argue that the course of foreign language for pupils should be optional. There are several reasons why people might support learning new languages as compulsory for students. Firstly, there is evidence to support the idea that picking up several languages simultaneously is a good exercise for brain. By absorbing new vocabulary, our brain gets much better and sharper. Not only just language learning, this strategy works for many other aspects of life as well. Learning multiple languages will improve the aptitude of a person. Secondly, many people would agree that knowing multiple languages will have a big advantage for future professionalism or employment. Therefore, trying to learn multiple languages will also make your candidature stronger. Finally, it is recognised that learning oversea dialect and terminology will boost technical linguistic skills. Not only it enhances our vocabulary and synonym-antonym skills, it also improves our accent through the process of differentiating and distinguishing between language. In spite of the advantages we get from learning new languages, I support the view that making students learn foreign languages should be optional. The main reason of assisting the above statement is because learning new language in childhood would make them weaker in verbal skills. According to the language experts, people trying to learn many languages during their youth would suffer from confused spoken language. Being flawless grammatically becomes difficult when we are managing multiple languages. The second purpose why I oppose learning language is compulsory is due to the neglect of native language. There is a possibility of a person’s native language will become weaker when learning foreign languages. There may be issues with sentence formation while writing in essays or communicating fluently with native speakers. Finally, learning new language may overwhelm one’s culture. In order to learn foreign languages, more students will try to imitate the ways others speak and behave. In conclusion, learning languages is good in order to keep up with the modern society but it should not be compulsory for all students as some can keep up with learning whilst others cannot. This may bring them more pressure in school subjects. Thus, the best solution is to ask the students’ opinion and respond according to them.