Some people say now there is less communication between family members than in the past.

It is debatable in some groups of people that at present there is lack of communication between family members if we compare it to the past. I would second this statement because communication gap has genuinely increased because of the excessive use of social media and hectic lifestyles of the masses. This essay will shed a light on the above-mentioned points in detail. First of all, advancement in technology has made everyone busy and created an absence of interaction between families. Whenever people get leisure time, instead of spending it with their loved ones, they prefer to use social networking sites such as Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram. The Younger generation is becoming more addicted to electronic gadgets and do not even bother to sit with their parents to talk about their lives. According to the research survey conducted by the Cambridge university, masses spend six to eight hours daily on social media as a result many family problems are arising such as, lack of intimacy, weak emotional bonding, other conflicts. ` Secondly, work pressure has made people stuck at workplaces for longer hours than expected which is also a major factor contributing to poor communication. Working parents hardly get any time out of their jam packed schedule to spend with their children and have a chit chat with them and this is the reason children get neglected and they feel isolated due to less or no attention. However, in the past parents used to spend a particular time of the day playing with their children and helping them in studies. To exemplify, one of my students feels alone and abandoned as both of his parents are working and this is affecting his studies and overall personality. In conclusion, I think two major causes of less interaction among family members are excessive use of the internet and busy routines of the masses due to jobs and education. People should definitely take out some time to spend with their loved ones.