Some People Say In All Levels Of Education, Too Much Time Is Spent On Learning Facts

According to some people too much attention is given to theoretical studies rather than practical implementation and they believe this can be seen in every level of education system from elementary to specialist studies. I agree with this notion and in this essay I will explain why people believe that most of the time is spent on studying theory. Right from elementary school students are told that there are two methods to learn anything – first is reading and the second is writing, to memorize what we read. This practice stays across different levels from schools to universities. They are not so keen on teaching any other method of learning. In question papers, more weightage is given to theoretical portions than practical portions. This also motivates students to focus more on facts. The education system is designed in such a way that students spend all their time in learning facts and clearing exams. Teachers also encourage this practice so much so that students fail to acquire any useful practical skills even after finishing their studies. For example, there are electrical engineering students who cannot change bulbs or commerce students who cannot fill in their tax form. This clearly shows that the importance of learning practical skills is often ignored. To conclude, I believe that the education system puts more emphasis on learning theory rather than real life skills. This is due to the way our learning system is designed and being followed across different levels of education.