SOME PEOPLE SAY ADVERTISEMENTS ENCOURAGES US TO BUY THINGS WE DO NOT REALLY NEED. OTHERS SAY THAT ADVERTISEMENTS TELL US ABOUT NEW PRODUCTS THAT IMPROVE OUR LIVES. WHICH VIEWPOINT DO YOU AGREE?

Over the past couple decades, there has been an exponential growth in marketing and digital communications. With this growth, comes along the age of advertisements. Some people think that advertisements are a form of pseudo-motivation which tricks us into buying unnecessary products and services. There are also among the ranks of those who think that it is a very good source of information for consumers to uplift their standard of living by building trust. While it is easy to side with former viewpoint, every coin has two sides, and it is important to look at both before providing a personal preference. Primarily, advertisements and marketing strategies are produced with the mindset of maximum consumer attention. Every customer group has a specific set of needs and wants for which they have to adjust their budget. For example, a customer group desperately need blankets due to their demographic situations, but they also desire to have self-heating blankets for extra comfort. Thus, commercials are often tweaked to increase the sale of costly self-heating blankets by convincing these customer groups to spend money on their "wants", rather than their "needs"-which is just a simple cozy blanket. This points to the fact that advertisements make all the essential efforts needed to lure people into making futile expenses. Alternatively, with the plethora of products in the arena of retailers, it is important to have a trustworthy source of information before making a purchase. Lack of information regarding products and services may lead to a feeling of fraud among the buyers. As an instance, Coca-Cola has a large range of soft drinks which competes along with every other beverage company in the market. If the company does not advertise their products, competitors might snatch their customer base by creating similar products and spreading misinformation about the product. Hence, it is the viewpoint that strongly suggests that in a world of widespread misinformation, advertising is a necessary evil for building trustworthiness and making life easier in terms of purchase. In a nutshell, even though there are arguments that suggests that advertisements are a boon, it is evidently not. Afore mentioned paragraphs prove strongly that the disadvantages of advertisements far outweigh the advantages. As per my opinion, it proves the fact that advertisements and commercials are just a way of misdirection which distracts people into making unwanted purchases.