Some people regard the video games as harmless fun, or even as a useful educational tool. Others, however, believe that videos games are having an adverse effect on the people who play them.

People have argued about the function of video games. A group of people believe that these digital games are beneficial for mankind, but others think that they would be a distraction to human's mind. Although video games have some positive sides, I personally believe that they have more negative effects on our minds, and the following essay will discuss them in details. For a number of reasons, a lot of people believe that video games are entertaining and educative. It is believed that video games could help people in releasing their stress. Players could feel the excitement of being a heroic character or a professional athlete, without having the risk of being injured or hurt. And then, there are some video games which are considered as educative as well, as they are created to trigger people's imaginative thinking, such as Tetris or chess. Despite the positive side, people do not realise that the games have become a serious problem for individuals and societies. Firstly, many people got addicted to video games, and it has affected to their work or study performance. Many workers are losing their focus and productivities, and some students have poor performance on their studies due to spending a number of hours in playing video games. Secondly, some games have shown violence and sadistic scenes and affected to the gamers' mind. There have been several cases in America, whereas students have done violence acts to their classmates because they were influenced by the game. And lastly, video games have affected to residents' health condition as well. People who play video games have the tendency to consume light snacks and do less exercise. Consequently, they have a risk of getting obesity and diabetic problems. In conclusion, video games have its own positive and negative sides, but I do believe that video games have more drawbacks than its benefits.