Some people prefer to work for themselves or own a business. Others prefer to work for an employer.

It is debatable whether people opt to start their own company or work for an organization. While the former is beneficial to some extent, I’m inclined to the latter. On the one hand, self-employment brings several benefits for freelancers. To begin with, freelancers may not be stuck in nine-to-five jobs that do not bring happiness or enjoyment for them, and these employees are completely free to choose their jobs. As a result, self-employees can do everything they want or love, which makes them more productive and happier. Furthermore, freelancers can earn a bigger amount of money than those without self-employment. This is due to the fact that they can do a variety of tasks simultaneously at their own pace and they keep all money they make while if these employees work for a company, they will only give fixed salary or bonus when they are hard-working. Nevertheless, I suppose the advantages of working for an organization significantly surpass those of self-employment. The first reason is that it is a safe choice because employees always give their salaries every month whereas people who set up their own company can put themselves at risk. If they lack capital or necessary knowledge to operate, they cannot succeed, even they may encounter huge depts or their company may go bankrupt. In addition, staff who are devoted to the company may give pension, healthcare payment, paid sick leave. In comparison, freelancers not only do not give pension or paid sick leave, but also they need to take on much responsibility, which can make them overwhelmed with the workload. In conclusion, although self-employment and working for a company bring both advantages and disadvantages, I believe people should choose to work for an organization for the reasons I have mentioned.