Some people prefer to relax by doing physical activities, while others choose mental activities (crosswords and chess etc).

It is of paramount importance for our human bodies to get their daily dose of relaxation and rejuvenation. While some people find it more relaxing to spend their leisure time by doing brain exercise, I would agree with those who prefer doing physical activities. On the one hand, some people prefer to spend their leisure time by doing intellectual activities such as solving sudoku puzzles or chess. Such activities are suitable for people who have laborious jobs that deplete their energy. After getting home, they will certainly not want to go for a run or hit the gym. Playing chess or solving crossword puzzles not only stimulate their intellect but also provide some relaxation. Another advantage of these activities is that they can be performed at home and at time. You don’t have to get out. This makes such activities suitable for climates. On the other side, other people choose to work out in the gym or run in the neighbourhood to relax. Doing such activities would help us combat our unhealthy lifestyle habits. For example, studies show that running for an hour every day helps in relieving stress and reduces Cholesterol levels which, in turn, improves our fitness and health. Moreover, getting engaged in a physical activity helps you focus on your exercise and forget anything else related to work or life concerns. This is because such activities are done in groups or outdoors and this reduces the possible distractions. Personally, I believe that intellectual leisure activities are more suitable for people whose jobs are physically demanding. Those who have a desk job should certainly flex their muscles during the free time. This is essential for their physical and emotional health.