Some people preach India is a hindu country. Give your views on the same

India has never been a Hindu country. It is and always will be a secular country. India has always stood out in the world for its diversity and secular beliefs. A person should never identified or judged on the basis of his religion. The greatest examples being: Late Abdul Kalam – he is the role model of millions of Indians not because of his religion but because of his deeds. At the same time, Abu Salem is a bad influence on everyone – not because he is Muslim but because he is an anti- social element. Now-a-days we see many people are spreading hate messages on religions stating India is a Hindu country – it should be called Hindustan etc. Not just this, such people even talk ill about other religions This was not the India I have known, read in my books. This is not the India my teachers, my family, my surroundings have taught me about. “There is no bad religion”. There are always bad people. ( from all communities. ) I am a proud Hindu – I respect my religion, my culture to the core of my heart. At the same time, I never degrade a person who doesn’t follow Hinduism. Its as simple as this, If I, being a telugu by my mother tongue can have immense love for my birth place(Odissa) and not Andhra Pradhesh or Telangana(the telugu speaking states), y cant a Muslim or a Christian have love for India. Why do some people always feel that they do not belong to this country. Moreover we Hindus, portray our unity as if we never fight among ourselves. Does our fight ends with religion? No. the next segregation we do is on the basis of region, Saying –“he is a south indian, he is a Bihari, he is a north Indian etc. The next level of division comes with caste, language, rich-poor, color, genderand the list of biasing goes on and on. There is no end to this. The solution is we have to teach children at the ground level about secularism and how beautiful it is.