Many believe that corporal punishment is the best way to instill discipline in a child.

All demographics of society follow certain practices to regulate children's behavior. Many believe that corporal punishment is the best way to instill discipline in a child. This essay will argue why physical punishment is absolutely unacceptable towards ingraining ethical conduct in children, even when it has remained a conventional practice to curb children's non-moral behavior. Some parents hold the opinion that the best way to discipline a child is through moderate striking. Foremost, parents are always cautious of the fact that their children can adopt bad influences from the society and, therefore, by inculcating fear of physical punishment, they try to stop their kids from getting complicit in immoral acts. Moreover, linked to the previous, parents just follow the proven conventional approach of using force to establish obedience in a child, without much thinking. Various studies have shown, that when parents turned to corporal punishment, the children rather stayed more obedient. This old age practice of raising kids can, therefore, be justified by various parents since it has shown the desired results more often than not. Despite the above reasonings, the idea of corporal punishment does more bad than good to children. Parents overlook the negative aspects, of practicing aggressive behaviours on the children, that would surface up later in the children's life. Children start to believe that it is completely fine to inflict physical pain to others in order to shape them the way they desire. This assumption can lead to giving them hard time in maintaining relationships, since, in the later phase of life, they will prefer to resolve their matters through force rather than dialogue. This can be backed up by the fact that a significant proportion of divorces results due to husbands being physically abusive towards their spouces, and this obviously roots down to the abusive enviornment they were raised in. Hence, I strongly believe that parents should tend to use other approaches to control child's moral code, ones which do not affect child's personity in the longer run. This essay argued that corporal punishment have long run negative implications on the children's life, and should never be considered acceptable even when it does discipline the child. I strongly believe that use of force does more harm to the child and that there are better and less repressive ways, which can rather be adopted to raise a good citizen of society.