Some people participate in extreme and dangerous sports. What can be done to avoid danger? How could these sports be made safer?

It is true that countless individuals are eager to participate in adventurous sports even though they are aware of the risks involved. There are various reasons for this; however, certain safety measures, if adopted and followed, can mitigate the dangers associated with these sports. To begin with, one of the predominant reasons for the popularity of some dangerous sports such as paragliding, bungee jumping and scuba diving is that people tend to take part in these sports to overcome and conquer their phobias and fears. Many people suffer from aquaphobia and acrophobia, and to free themselves from these fears, they indulge in some adventurous yet life-threatening sports. These sports, they believe, will boost their confidence and make them intrepid. To exemplify this, I was extremely afraid of heights but to overcome this fear, I did paragliding not only once but thrice in a row on the same day even though I was aware of the risks involved. I am no longer afraid of tall buildings and extreme heights. Moreover, people have thrilling and exhilarating experience after doing these sports. They feel more alive and younger. To mitigate the dangers involved in these sports, the most effective measure is to use proper safety gears and equipment such as harness, ropes and specialized clothing. Before doing the sport, the participants should be checked thoroughly to ensure that their specialized safety kit and gear is functioning properly. This practice, therefore, would reduce the risks involved. In addition to what has been mentioned, the specialists and experienced professionals should provide 1-2 days of training to interested participants to avoid any dangers. For example, before doing sky-diving, the professionals provide 2 days of coaching to the people who are going to take part in it. Moreover, participating in these hazardous sports must be avoided in extreme weather conditions, such as during rain and thunderstorms. In conclusion, from a quick analysis of the situation, it is quite evident that people are inclined towards precarious sports as it helps them to conquer their fears. Undoubtedly, the dangers associated with these sports can be significantly reduced by taking proper safety measures.